Monday, August 30, 2010

Passage to America

(Some Jamesons) "Hugh and Christine (Whitehead) Jameson lived in or near Coleraine, County Londonderry, Ulster, Ireland, where all their children except Molly were born. On the map of Ulster in the last posting, Coleraine is to the east-north-east of Londonderry just on the other side of the River Bann. He worked as a cordwainer (shoemaker) and with their children they emigrated to America in 1746.
Sloop of the type of "Molly" (circa 1622)

"They sailed August 4, 1746, on the sloop 'Molly' from Port Rush, on the northern Coast of Ireland, for Boston, New England. The cost of the passage was agreed and bound by a contract ("note of hand" seen below) signed August 4, 1746, the actual day of sailing, with Robert Gage of Coleraine, Ireland, where Hugh and a fellow passenger, Robert Parkinson (his niece's husband), promised to pay the cost, L6-13s (for both), two years from the date of arrival in Boston.

Passage Payment Agreement:

We, Hugh Jamison and Robert Parkinson Doo bind

oursleves our ____ ____ ____ a figures in the fair

and just sum of six pounds thirteen shillings ____

lawful money of Great Britain to be paid unto Mr.

Robert Gage Mert (merchant): of Colerain in Ireland or his ______

to be paid in two years from the date here of

and after our arrival in Boston in America

as witness our hands and seals this August 4th ____

There is little to indicate why they left. In 1740-41, cold winters and poor harvests caused the Forgotten Famine during which 400,000 people died in Ireland. However, it is difficult to link that tragedy with the Jamesons' emigration five years
later.

"With him on board were his wife, Christine, and six or seven of their children, his sister, Elizabeth (Jameson) Woods, his niece, Esther (Wood) Parkinson and her husband, Robert Parkinson, as well as what is thought to be his younger brother, Thomas. Among his children were two young sons, whose names are no longer known, who died during the trip. It is said that the second boy died at the grief of the loss of his younger brother. They were both buried at sea. It is interesting to note that about two years after arriving in America, Hugh and Christine had a daughter born to them, to whom they gave the name Molly.

"Their route most likely would have been down the western coast of Ireland, the usual course of ships in those days bound for America from the northern ports of Ireland. This would have been a difficult and dangerous trip in the mid 1750's, lengthy too, especially for smaller ships like those typically sailing from Port Rush. The sloop 'Molly,' with fair sailing, would have reached the American coast in the early autumn of 1746, and probably landed her passengers in Boston, Massachusetts Bay, as that was the intended port, although the ship belonged in Salem, MA."

In the next post, we'll discover the continued influence of Robert Gage in the life of the Jamesons, Hugh's position in the town in which they settled and his role in the Revolutionary war.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Jamesons Arrive in Templemore Parish, Ulster

The website "SomeJamesons" traces the line back to William Jameson, the first Jameson born in Ireland. William's parents came from Scotland in 1619 from the southwestern county called Argyle (or Argyllshire), as in the socks.




Argyle is the archaic spelling of Argyll, which is the southwestern (pink) section on the map


William's parents emigrated to Ireland, or more precisely Ulster (Northern Ireland), in the early 1600's. "At the beginning of the 1600's, James I, of England, began a re-population of northern Ireland with mostly Scottish Protestants. The area was at the time largely occupied by the Desmonds, who had been defeated and depleted in various rebellions with the crown during the reign of Queen Elizabeth. This forced re-population started in 1611 and was an effort by the king to colonize this here-to-fore troublesome area with a more sympathetic and supportive people. The incentives were lucrative with large quantities of land available to each immigrant. Many Scots took advantage of this offer and is undoubtedly why the ancestors of Hugh Jameson found their way to Ireland. This population was largely increased with further immigration over the next 50 years as a result of persecutions by English Kings Charles I and Charles II in their effort to establish the Church of England in Scotland."

The family took up residence and William was born in Templemore Parish of Londonderry, Northern Ireland. The distance across the channel is not very far. Notice Scotland in the upper right hand corner of the map of Northern Ireland. William (1) was born in 1646.



"The Scottish colonists resided in Ireland over several decades during the middle 1600's. They lived somewhat autonomously, retaining their culture and traditions. Intermarriage of Scots with the Irish were exceedingly rare, so that the Scotch race remained nearly as distinct as it was prior to its settlement in this new land. They attended their own churches and continued life pretty much as it was known to them in Scotland... The Jamesons in general were said to have been a robust, active, muscular, and prolific race of people undoubtedly descended from the son of James or Jamie..."

"William Jameson was said to be a vigorous Scotchman, who was thought to have served in the defense of Londonderry during the siege of 1689, and probably the Battle of Boyne in 1690 with distinguished gallantry and such bravery that he was made free from taxation throughout the British dominion by William III, Prince of Orange."




Battle of Boyne (Wikipedia)

The Battle of Boyne was a decisive battle in turning back King James II of England, Scotland and Ireland. He was Catholic and for him the war was an attempt to regain the throne so he could create sovereignty for Ireland, religious freedom and the right to own land for Catholics. No surprise, most of his soldiers were Irish Catholics.

Conversely, for William of Orange and his soldiers, the war was about maintaining Protestant and English rule against the fear that if James retook the throne he would take their land and or kill large numbers of them.


William of Orange (Wikipedia)

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Some Jamesons

Isaac & Laura Jameson Dakin on Laurel Glen circa 1890


Laura Jameson Dakin was an equal partner with Isaac in their contribution to life in Knight's Ferry. What prepared her for that role? Where did her people come from and what pressures, accomplishments and other experiences shaped their lives? Those are questions that we will explore over the next several posts. Before we get started a couple of preliminaries. I am deeply indebted to the Jamesons, especially John Jameson, who put together material for http://www.somejamesons.com/. Much of the information that follows comes from that website and the sources cited there.

A preview of major players in the postings/generations to follow may be helpful to keep them straight. As usual there are fathers and sons with the same name which tends to confuse things. In that regard, the first father and son combination does not disappoint.

William Jameson (1) born 1646, was the first Jameson to be born in Northern Ireland. The family was from Scotland. William (1) was a war hero in the Battle of Boyne and received a significant reward for his service. His son William (2) was also born in Northern Ireland about 1675. His son Hugh was a pivotal figure.


Hugh Jameson, born 1713, and his wife (first wife in the family for whom we have a name), Christine Whitehead, were the brave and/or desperate souls who fled Ireland for America. We'll explore the circumstances that likely forced them to leave Ireland and see some of the documents that mark that passage and its differed payment.


After Christine died, William (2) met and married Jane McHenry in New Hampshire. Their first born (1760) was Alexander (1). Alexander was Laura Maria Jameson Dakin's grandfather. We gain some interesting insights into the social life of the early colonies through an arrangement Alexander and his brother, Daniel, made with their parents.


Alexander's (1) family broke up after the death of his first wife, Janet Brown Jameson around 1800. When his mother died and he was little more than 3 years old, Alexander (2) was taken in by his aunt and uncle, Zuar and Mary (Brown) Eldridge also of New Hampshire. There is an interesting story (or perhaps legend) around the break up of the family. Alexander (2) is also the first Jameson whose picture we have to post.


Up until Alexander (2), almost everybody is still in New Hampshire. That is, until we find Laura Maria Jameson getting ready to marry Isaac Dakin in Knight's Ferry, CA, in 1859. I'm hoping I'll know a lot more about how Laura got to California by the time that posting comes long.






Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Dakins Move On

Dakin Blacksmith Shop rebuilt after a fire that destroyed it and now used as a firestation.
Alice Arata stands in front. (photo: 1993)


For twenty years, the Dakins were indelibly intertwined in the fortunes of Knights Ferry. As they grew older together, Laura and Isaac decided to transition to a new vocation. For a long time Isaac had been reading the Horticulturalist's Monthly. Business had been falling off steadily. The goldfields no longer held the attraction for young men seeking their fortune. The new railroad took the remaining business elsewhere. Big freighters no longer rumbled day and night through the tiney way station by the Stanislaus.




Selling Isaac's interest in the blacksmith's shop would be difficult. But, in the fall of 1877, he succeeded in selling the smithy and the Dakins were free to move to Laurel Glen in Soquel. There Isaac would take up horticulture along with his children, most notibly his son, Henry.


The beautiful home that saw so much history being made within its walls was also sold. Most owners since then have taken pride in keeping the home and grounds in top condition. Today, if Laura and Isaac were to return to Knights Ferry, they would instantly recognize the spot where they began married life together. where their children were born and where many happy memberies are stored within its walls. (End of Criswell content)

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Laura Dakin's Organizing Continues

Side/back of the Dakin Home

Criswell continues: There is much more to a well-rounded education than learning the 3Rs, so the ladies turned their attention to a new crusade. The morality of Knights Ferry's population had been neglected. Without a spiritual guide and an adequate church building, the community was like a ship without a rudder at the end. Drunkenness and rowdyism was running rampant.


As a rest stop, Knights Ferry was without rival. As one stage driver put it, "the Ferry sure knows how to take care of a hungry and tired man." And when he was cleaned up, fed and rested, there were others ready to entertain him. There were as many, perhaps more, saloons and card rooms in town than in Angels Camp, Columbia or any other Moder Lode community.


Something needed to be done, so the Ladies Literary Guild took up the challenge. Sporadic services had been held by visiting clergyman on occasion, but no real effort had been expanded to get a permanent church and pastor. The ladies went to work. they solicited funds and volunteer labor. there were to be no excuses. Knights Ferry was going to have a church.


Under the guidance of Laura Dakin, success was assured. Her tireless efforts paid off so that in 1867 lad was purchased at the northeast corner of Ellen and Shurl Streets for the permanent home of Knights Ferry's first church.


The building was erected the very next year. It was a multipurpose structure housing the church, Sunday School and parsonage. Mothers pledged their children's attendance. The Reverend C. Anderson was persuaded to move to town and assume a rather big job of bringing religion and sobriety to its inhabitants.


Ladies of the Guild met regularly at the Dakin home to plan strategy for contacting every resident of Knights Ferry. with their enthusiasm, religion picked up rapidly so that in a few short months there were 28 members of the church and 25 scholars attending Sunday School.


Meanwhile, the Dakins were becoming famous for their garden parties held on the spacious lawns front and back of the house. Hundreds of swaying candlelit Japanese lanterns added a festive note and music was provided by the Knights Ferry band. The colorful evening gatherings were among the town's top social events. The guest list always included the men and women who made up the main driving force that propelled the Ferry to prominence in this part of the state.


Sunday, May 23, 2010

Wilbur, Henry & Alice Inspire a School

Wilbur, Henry & Alice (circa 1870)

Just short of a year after the Dakins moved into their new home on Vantine St., they were blessed with the birth of a son. They named him Wilber and all of Knights Ferry rejoiced with Laura and Isaac on their good fortune.
Having a new person in the home meant many changes. Isaac spent less time at the smithy, turning over much of the work to his partner, and Laura took up the study of child rearing with an intensity bnever seen by the other mother's in town. Soon the articles she submitted for publication took on a childcare complexion, so immersed was she in her new role.
Two years later, in 1863, another bundle of joy arrived in the Dakin home. It was a boy and his name was Henry. By now Laura was an expert on babies and while neither child was slighted, the care and feeding of infants became a well organized routine.
Nearly two years went by before a third child made her appearance. This time the Dakin's were the proud parents of a girl whome they promptly named Alice. All three children were born in the big white house at Dean and Vantine Streets where loved prevailed among all the Dakins, young and old.
The Ladies Literary Guild, meanwhile, was never without enthusiasm, always ready to take up the clarion call of a new need in Knights Ferry. In 1861, a school of sorts ahd been set up in one end of at stable on Main Street, but as the town's population grew it became woefully inadequate.
The ladies, under the forceful leadership of Laura Dakin and her sisterm, Mary Locke, soon turned the focus of their attention to getting a real school with a building dedicated to the education of their children; one with modern equipment, adequate books and tools, and a qualified teacher of some experience.

With the Dakin children fas approaching school age, the call became more urgent. On November, 1868, with Wilbur Dakin approaching his seventh birthday, the Ladies Literary Guild finally succeeded in convincing the county to organize the Emory School District, an area including Knights Ferry.

But, without money and a lack of enthusiasm on the part of county officials, it was still an up hill battle for five long years before the ground was at last broken on the hill top over looking Knight's Ferry were a real school house.
It proved to be well planned for a growing population. By 1880 there were 64 pupils in the one spacious room that offred a first through sixth grade education to all children of the area.
Much of the success of this and other far-reaching accomplishments in Knights Ferry can be traced directly to Laura Dakin and her ability to sway public opinion to get things done.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

The Jamison Sister Organize Knights Ferry

Laura Jamison Dakin (circa 1870) Her unusually short hair
is thought to be the result of scarlet fever suffered early in life.


The future looked so rosy in the new community that Mary Locke persuaded Laura, who in turn finally convinced her husband to relocate there. There were no regrets. The two families worked and played together and were soon the most influential residents in town.





Arrival of the Jamison sisters marked a turning point in the tortunes of Knights Ferry's life. Both were well educated and progressive young ladies whose ideas for the fledgling village were a settling and civilizing influence.





Laura had a flair for writing and indeed was a regular contributor to such famous women's magaines as Harpers Weekly, the Stockton Daily Independent, Harper's Bazaar and the prestigious Godley's Ladies Magazine.





Isaac subscribed tothe Wagon Builder's Journal, The Rural Press, The Horticulturalist's Monthly and, to keep up with the times, the New York Tribune, so there was no scarcity of educational material coming into the Dakin home.





Besides reparing equipment of travelers passing through town, Dakin and his partner Lewis McLauflin made new wagons in their shop on Main Street, wagons that found a ready market.





But it was the sisters who left the greatest impression on the village. Laura organized the Ladies Literary Guild and invited all the women to join her in disscussing needs of the community. They all came, eager for information on what could be done for their children and their husbands as well as their homes.





There wre lively discussions about a school, a church, and a community center. About activities in to which everyone could join. On household hints and gardening, about improving the water supply, the latest styles and clothing, food recipes, and so on. The weekly meetings in the Dakin home were well attended by enthusiastic ladies wanting to do something constructive for themselves and the town.